What are the benefits of attending a symposium?

It is well known that the symposiums, which are platforms, organized by an organisation committee that the academicians, students or people from industry can present their papers in a specific area.

I attended my first symposium in 1998 and I was really hesitant. I am a really young researcher and I must present my academic studies to an experienced audience. Thus, it was really hard work. When I saw the symposium program from time to time and saw some big names on the program, I was sweating from stress throughout the trip. Anyway, my presentation was good and I was really relaxed after the applause of the audience. I thought that I was a theatre player. From that date to this time, based on my experience, I can say that there are many benefits to attending a symposium. So, the benefits of attending a symposium can be listed as:

  • Expansion of academic networking,
  • new laboratories, countries or cities,
  • Discussion of academic studies with other professionals,
  • To gain new information, knowledge and experience,
  • Improving of presentation capability,
  • Short time vacation to get motivation,
  • An atmosphere for comparison of yourself with others from the academic side,
  • Improvement of self confidence,
  • Other academical benefits such as academical promotions or help to get positions.

It is suggested that attending a more special symposium in your exact research area could get more benefit than that of a symposium with a broader scope.

Then, you will be really happy after seeing your paper in symposium proceedings.

One day, you can be as a keynote speaker in a valuable conference if you popular from scientific side.

www.hakanfoztop.com

--

--

Hakan F. Öztop, ArGe, Proje, İnovasyon, makale,

Academician, R&D, loneliness researcher, yalnızlık araştırmacısı, #innovation, #CFD, academicalcareer coach, www.hakanfoztop.com